Chicago Literary Awards

October 29th, 2011

Join Elysabeth Alfano on Fear No ART for candid interviews with authors Sara Paretsky on Gwendolyn Brooks, Haki Mudhubhuti on Richard Wright and photographer Art Shay on Nelson Algren during the inaugural Chicago Literary Awards in 2010. The 2010 Chicago Literary Awards honored Saul Bellow, Studs Terkel, Lorraine Hansberry, Gwendolyn Brooks, Richard Wright and Nelson Algren. The 2nd Annual Chicago Literary Awards, honoring Cyrus Colter, Theodore Dreiser, Harriet Monroe, Mike Royko, Carl Sandburg and Ida B. Wells will take place on November 15 at the Harold Washington Library.  Click for free, but limited, tickets.

The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame Mission
The Chicago Literary Hall of Fame’s mission is to promote and celebrate Chicago’s rich and proud literature tradition by honoring the authors whose words have best captured the essence of our city.

Through our mission, we will collect and exhibit literary artifacts; document the accomplishments of Chicago’s best writers; capture the voices and words of Chicago’s best writers; become a portal to Chicago’s literary events, publishers and people; and promote new literature through recognition and prizes. Our annual induction ceremony, with the inaugural event scheduled for late summer 2010, will be an occasion for Chicago to crown past, present and future literary achievements.

Chicago is not a city that can be crisply explained, neatly categorized, or easily understood.

Yet through our literature we strive to define our place in the world. Our literature speaks to our city’s diversity, character and heart. In our literature can be found all we love and hate, frozen snapshots of our vast terrain over the years, commentary on our ever-changing culture. In our literature can be found who we are and what we do and where we do it. The value and character of our city is not only reflected in but shaped by our great books.

Share This!


Follow me


Subscribe to my podcast